5 people, 3 holding awards
BCCC president Dr. Dave Loope (left) and Dr. LaTonya Nixon (right), VP of student services, congratulate Soaring Seagull Award recipient Sahsha Gibbs, Gov. Robert Scott Award nominee Nick Peele, and Dallas Herring Award nominee Chelsie Griffin.

Students Recognized for Leadership, Achievement & Perseverance

Beaufort County Community College recognized its top-performing students on April 15 for high achievements and overcoming obstacles. Recognitions included the nominations for the Dallas Herring Achievement Award and the Governor Robert W. Scott Student Leadership Award, as well as the BCCC Soaring Seagull Awards. Students who are nominated for the Dallas Herring Achievement Award and the Gov. Robert Scott Student Leadership Award are eligible to win these awards on a statewide level.

Chelsie Griffin, 21, is this year’s Dallas Herring Achievement Award nominee. She is a Williamston resident working toward an Associate in Arts. Griffin attended Riverside High School and plans to transfer to earn a degree in social work.

The Dallas Herring Achievement Award was established by the North Carolina Community College System in 2010 to honor the late Dr. Dallas Herring, one of the state’s earliest advocates of community colleges. The award is bestowed annually upon a current or former student who best embodies Dr. Herring’s philosophy of “taking people where they are and carrying them as far as they can go.”

Nick Peele, 33, is the nominee for the Governor Robert Scott Leadership Award. He is a Bath resident and attended Northside High School. He worked in automotive repair before returning to college to study nursing. He is the husband of Hannah Peele, a father of two, and the son of Thomas and Suzy Peele. He plans to work in nursing, and he is a BCCC ambassador.

In 2004, the North Carolina Association of Community College Presidents created the Governor Robert Scott Leadership Award to recognize student leadership on a statewide level while also honoring former Governor Bob Scott. Gov. Scott served as the State’s chief executive from 1968-1972 and then was president of our system for 12 years from 1983-1995.Gov. Scott passed away in January of 2009, but he was very humbled that the system named a student award in his honor. This is an award designed to highlight outstanding curriculum student leadership and service.

Sahsha Gibbs, 19, is the recipient of a BCCC Soaring Seagull Award. Gibbs is a Chocowinity resident, and the daughter of Lakisha and Clarence Gibbs. The Associate in Science student attended Southside High School and plans to major in education. She works as a car wash attendant at Whistle Express. Gibbs is the VP of the Student Government Association, president of the Get Movin’ Club, VP of the Environmental Alliance, the secretary of Rotaract, and a member of the Write On! Creative Writing Club.

The Soaring Seagull Award recognizes students that have exhibited determination, drive, and persistence.

These students and more will be recognized at the Academic Awards Ceremony.